Skip to main content


Northern District of Texas

Barbara M.G. Lynn, Chief Judge
Karen Mitchell, Clerk of Court

Court Information

You are here

The Northern District of Texas is made up of 100 of the 254 counties in Texas. Nine of the cities in the Northern District of Texas are in list of the top twenty most populous cities in Texas--Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Lubbock, Garland, Irving, Amarillo, Grand Prairie, and Mesquite. Geographically, the district encompasses more than 96,000 square miles, making it the largest land area district in the country, except for those federal districts that encompass an entire state. Many of the nation's Fortune 500 companies are either headquartered or have a major presence in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex.

Thirty-four district judges have been appointed to the Northern District of Texas bench since the district was created in 1879. The court currently has twelve active district judgeships, five senior judges, eight full-time magistrate judges, and one part-time magistrate judge.