

January 10, 2020

Four Seasons Resort and Club 4150 North MacArthur Boulevard Irving, Texas 75038 MCLE Credit: 7 hours (including 2 hours of ethics) Sponsored by the Federal Bar Association Dallas & Fort Worth Chapters

Fourth Annual Northern District of Texas Bench Bar Conference

Friday, January 10, 2020

AGENDA

8:00-9:00 a.m. REGISTRATION

9:00-9:45 a.m. ADVOCACY IN THE COURTS

Senior District Judge Sidney A. Fitzwater

District Judge Ed Kinkeade

District Judge Karen Gren Scholer Magistrate Judge Irma C. Ramirez

9:45-10:30 a.m. MEDIATION/ADR

Magistrate Judge David L. Horan

Chief Bankruptcy Judge Barbara J. Houser Former Magistrate Judge Jeff Kaplan

10:30-11:00 a.m. CIVICS EDUCATION

Chief District Judge Barbara M.G. Lynn

11:00-11:45 a.m. APPELLATE PRACTICE

Fifth Circuit Judge Catharina Haynes Fifth Circuit Judge James C. Ho District Judge J. Campbell Barker

11:45 a.m.-12:00 p.m. BREAK

12:00-1:00 p.m. KEYNOTE ADDRESS

Third Circuit Judge Cheryl Ann Krause

1:00-2:00 p.m. NEW AT THE COURTHOUSE

District Judge Mark T. Pittman District Judge J. Wesley Hendrix District Judge Brantley Starr Magistrate Judge John Parker

2:00-2:45 p.m. REGULATORY/ENFORCEMENT

District Judge Reed O'Connor

Andrew Wirmani, Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Texas

Paul E. Coggins, Locke Lord

Karen Glassman, Office of Counsel to the Inspector General of the Department

of Health and Human Services

Scott Mascianica, Assistant Director - Division of Enforcement, U.S. Securities

and Exchange Commission

2:45-3:15 p.m. BREAK

3:15-4:00 p.m. BANKRUPTCY BREAKOUT

Chief Bankruptcy Judge Barbara J. Houser
Bankruptcy Judge Robert L. Jones
Bankruptcy Judge Stacey G.C. Jernigan
Bankruptcy Judge Mark X. Mullin
Bankruptcy Judge E. Lee Morris
Lisa Lambert, Assistant U.S. Trustee, Department of Justice

CIVIL BREAKOUT

District Judge Jane J. Boyle Magistrate Judge D. Gordon Bryant, Jr. Magistrate Judge Lee Ann Reno Magistrate Judge Rebecca Rutherford

CRIMINAL BREAKOUT

Magistrate Judge Jeffrey Cureton Federal Public Defender Jason Hawkins Richard Roper, Thompson & Knight LLP

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY BREAKOUT

Chief District Judge Barbara M.G. Lynn District Judge David C. Godbey District Judge Amos L. Mazzant, III

4:00-4:10 p.m. BREAK

4:10-4:50 p.m. TRIAL ADVOCACY

Magistrate Judge Renée H. Toliver
Kim Askew, K&L Gates
Marlo Cadeddu, Law Office of Marlo P. Cadeddu
Ophelia Camina, Susman Godfrey
Veronica Lewis, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Errin Martin, Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Texas
Elizabeth Ryan, Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst

5:00-6:00 p.m. RECEPTION SPONSORED BY THE TEXAS LAWBOOK





THANK YOU!

Special thanks to the following groups who made this year's Bench Bar Conference possible:

Northern District of Texas Bench Bar Committee

Jason Jordan (co-chair) Rebekah Ricketts (co-chair)

Layla Ahl

Jill Bindler

Joe Cleveland

David DeZern

Alex Dimock

Richard Guiltinan

Jared Hoggan

5 Lili

Brad Hubbard

Camille Knight

Karen Mitchell

Michael O'Brien

Kirstine Rogers

Marc Taubenfeld

Federal Bar Association - Dallas Chapter Executive Committee

Jason Jordan, President

Rebekah Ricketts, President-Elect

Alex Dimock, Vice President

Carolyn Hill, Treasurer

Kirstine Rogers, Secretary

Chalon Clark, Membership Chair

Rachel Robertson, Young Lawyers

Joshua Smeltzer, Outreach Chair

Richard Guiltinan, Immediate Past President

Cort Thomas, Civics Liaison

Sheria Smith, Government Liaison

Michael O'Brien, Bench-Bar Liaison

Lisa Lambert, SOLACE Liaison

Douglas Fletcher, Law Student Division

District Judge Jane J. Boyle, Court Advisor

Magistrate Judge David L. Horan, Court Advisor

Bankruptcy Judge Harlin D. Hale, Court Advisor

Karen Mitchell, Court Advisor

Federal Bar Association - Fort Worth Chapter Executive Committee

Joe Cleveland, President Magistrate Judge Jeffrey Cureton Russell Devenport, Treasurer Karen Precella, Membership Chair Jeff Kearney

